Visual Learning

Blue window by Dawn Blanchard, oil on canvas
Blue window by Dawn Blanchard, oil on canvas 24″ x 36″ Sold

Learning Style

I remember it exactly. The night sky was cobalt with black, sparks of white stars in the form of the Milky Way creating a subtle light bright enough to see the sparkling ultramarine blue river in the night. Lapis Lazuli, azure, blue. I could taste the blue in the night desert. I remember it exactly.

My learning style is visual. Show me an address written out and I’ll recite it perfectly from memory. Tell me that same address and two seconds later I can’t repeat it at all. Visual. My learning style is visual.

In art class they teach you to draw what you see, not what you THINK you see. Is the glass round, look again, it’s an oval. Is the light reflected white, no it’s green because of the tree outside the window that is really creating the reflection. The candle flame is white not orange, and the water is green because of the yellow algae growing in the water mixed with the reflecting blue sky – yellow and blue make green. Paint what you see, not what you think you see. I learn visually.

Learning style. I remember it perfectly. The house was built in 1868 and was one of the first houses to have wood floors. Presidents and other notables were entertained there. Today it’s a western art museum. The walls were thick and white washed with lime so many time the window seal had no edge. The window was weather worn and blue painted wood. Against the ancient adobe wall of white it was beautiful, simple, clean. I did two paintings: a small watercolor study, and a large oil painting. The watercolor sold before the show even opened, the oil an hour later. The gallery wanted me to paint more like it so I painted the blue door a month later.

The blue window. I remember it perfectly. The blue window in the Fish House in Tucson Arizona. It was built in 1868 and was owned by Edward Nye Fish. I learn visually.

blog on

One thought on “Visual Learning

Leave a Reply

